PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse RCP questions with case study

alexz1011
March 18th, 2009, 04:18 AM
I am interested to learn about Eclipse RCP, I have got some basic knowledge, but I wanted to know more what it is capable of. So I encouraged my self to create a set of requirements, analyze them, and come up with design decisions about how they can be met using Eclipse RCP as the base framework, and eventually implement them with Eclipse RCP. Now, maybe the requirements are too hard or I just do not understand about Eclipse RCP much yet, I am struggling to come up with proper solutions to meet the requirements!

The following is the summary of the requirements (please excuse the probable lack of details, this is really just some example to encourage myself):

I wanted to have an Eclipse RCP application to monitor some servers. These servers will initially be programs that the application knows about (meaning it knows exactly about their ins and outs). In the future, however, the application should be able to allow users to specify arbitrary programs with different charateristics for the application to monitor as well (so not just known servers, but also some other servers that it did not know about before). The application will also require an XML configuration file that contains all of the details of the servers that need to be monitored (e.g. host, port, username, and password). This XML configuration file will be encoded and decoded using JAXB.

So based on the above requirements, I have come up with the following details:

The XML will look something like this:

<configuration>
<components>
<serverA>
<host></host>
<port></port>
<username></username>
<password></password>
</serverA>
<serverB>
<host></host>
<port></port>
<username></username>
<password></password>
</serverB>
<!--- this will be the place for other components specified by user -->
</components>
</configuration>

Where <serverA> and <serverB> are servers that the application knows about.