PDA

View Full Version : Has anybody used FOG for cloning machines?

Roasted
March 17th, 2009, 04:50 PM
I just wanted to poke my head around here and speak something I came across in case anybody else can benefit from this. I work in a school district and I have a big project coming up where I'm not too sure how our current cloner, which does 5 drives in 45 minutes, will stand up to the magnitude amount of computers we are getting.

As a test I took a spare PC, a P4 3.0ghz with 1gb of RAM and installed Ubuntu 8.10 32 bit on it and set up FOG accordingly to the wiki documentation I found.

I haven't tested it on multicasting due to the fact I don't have a switch available that has it enabled, but even unicasting seems to be fast.

I searched the forums here to find nobody has really talked about FOG, so I wanted to take my recent discovery of FOG and throw it out here in case anybody else can benefit from it.

Note - They do have a SourceForge Forum, but since FOG is primarily written for Fedora + Ubuntu, I figured I'd mention it here. :)

mips
March 17th, 2009, 05:46 PM
This is the first I have heard of FOG, looks interesting.

Another thing you could look at is CloneZilla although I have never used it.

kevin11951
March 17th, 2009, 05:48 PM
This is the first I have heard of FOG, looks interesting.

Another thing you could look at is CloneZilla although I have never used it.

+1 for clonezilla, we have been using it for our high school computer recycle project.

Roasted
March 17th, 2009, 07:57 PM
I spent over 4 months trying to figure out Clonezilla Server edition. I use the LiveCD of Clonezilla a lot, but the Server side was just a royal headache.

When I did finally get it working, I successfully cloned a computer, only to find out it did not copy over the MBR properly so my image was useless.

I saw a 20 minute video on YouTube of an unbiased and thorough review of FOG vs Clonezilla, and in the video they even mentioned some users had this MBR problem that I had.