PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] upgrading from ubuntu8.04 to ubuntu8.10

iam_newhere
March 17th, 2009, 02:13 PM
hi, i am a newbie in the ubuntu environment and communtiy.
i just recently installed a ubuntu8.04 using wubi to dual boot to my vista.
turned out to be great with some issues, webcam and wine to play warcraft3 tft.
but anyways here's my question. is it better to upgrade to ubuntu8.10 or to just stay on ubuntu8.04 performance and security wise and everything else considered?

thanks! appreciate your much needed advice!:D

raghavendran_te
March 17th, 2009, 02:28 PM
I would say going to ubuntu 8.10 is good. Generally updates fix up problems, enhance the securities and so on. If your intention is just to play games, 8.04 should be more than enough.

FrostDust
March 17th, 2009, 02:48 PM
In general, you're not missing out on anything critical, but it's still worth it. Being an LTS, there's nothing wrong with sticking with 8.04 unless you're eyeing a new feature/program.

This is a good list of the new things included:
http://www.ubuntu.com/testing/intrepid/beta#New%20Features%20since%20Ubuntu%208.04

Also, here are some of the bugs in the new version:
http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/releasenotes/810

One of the bigger issues to be concerned with is, because a new version of Xorg is used in 8.10, some older video cards are no longer supported under the binary drivers, and are switched to using the open-source drivers when upgrading. This equates to not being able to use Compiz, or get high performance for 3D games. Check the second link to see if your card is listed.

iam_newhere
March 17th, 2009, 03:23 PM
wow! thanks! i dont think my intel GMA 950 and intel 82945G can handle ubuntu8.10.

FrostDust
March 17th, 2009, 03:57 PM
wow! thanks! i dont think my intel GMA 950 and intel 82945G can handle ubuntu8.10.