PDA

View Full Version : Electric Bass Guitar

Audrey Hepburn on Crack
March 17th, 2009, 03:51 AM
I am taking Electric Bass Guitar lessons this Spring and I am in the market for an affordable (under $200) but good electric bass guitar for an absolute beginner, I was wondering if anybody had any good recommendations?

Aesthetically, I like the electric bass guitars with a natural Mahogany finish or other natural wood finish (not just a finish but made of solid wood is preferable).

Is a 4 string or a 5 string electric bass guitar better for an absolute beginner?

I have found some electric bass guitars that have as many as 4 control knobs and some as few as 2; thus my other question: is 2, 3, or 4 control knobs better?

What are some good brands out there for an inexpensive but good (sounding and hold up after time) electric bass guitars?

Also, I am not opposed to a good used electric bass guitar but it seems like that would require considerable in depth knowledge of electric bass guitars that I just don't have.

Any input is greatly appreciated in advance (my apologies for this not being Linux or Ubuntu related).

chucky chuckaluck
March 17th, 2009, 04:14 AM
for a beginner, you can get away with a pretty cheap bass. if you have short arms, you'll want to get something with a little relief in the neck (no rickenbachers, in other words). four string is fine. most of the great bass players stuck with four. nice username, btw. e17 user, i'm guessing?

sgosnell
March 17th, 2009, 04:23 AM
Start visiting pawn shops and trying out basses. Most have at least one or a few, larger ones often have many. You should be able to find one you like, but it could take several visits.