PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] effect will not Work

milesukaoma
March 16th, 2009, 01:19 PM
i have a ibm think pad r32 my specs are:
processor intel mobile pentium 2.0Ghz
Memory-512 ram
Grapics-16Mb Radeon 7000 ATI Mobility chipset

Is it possible for me to get any effects onto my laptop using compiz or 3d environments anything sorry im new to ubuntu 8.04

mhgsys
March 16th, 2009, 01:51 PM
first off all:

try >system>administration>hardware-drivers to see if ubuntu can find the drivers automatically.

milesukaoma
March 16th, 2009, 02:05 PM
i did and it said no proprietary drivers are in use on this system.. so what do i do from this point

mhgsys
March 16th, 2009, 02:34 PM
I could tell you, but it would be easier to read this

http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Hardy_Installation_Guide#Method_1:_Install_ the_driver_the_Ubuntu_Way

milesukaoma
March 18th, 2009, 04:58 AM
well i did this and it completly corrupted my Os. does anyone know if my graphics card is even supported

overdrank
March 18th, 2009, 05:01 AM
Grapics-16Mb Radeon 7000 ATI Mobility chipset

Is it possible for me to get any effects onto my laptop using compiz or 3d environments anything sorry im new to ubuntu 8.04

anyone know if my graphics card is even supported

Hi and I have the same graphics card with Hardy and the effects work ok, but with 16mb of memory I do not think it will work. If you can increase the amount of memory then you may have a shot with Hardy 8.04

milesukaoma
March 18th, 2009, 05:10 AM
So is there a way to increase the memory on my graphics card

overdrank
March 18th, 2009, 05:25 AM
So is there a way to increase the memory on my graphics card

Some laptops will allow you to adjust the memory in bios and others will automatically adjust when the system amount is increase to the max. You will need to look at the specs of the system also. As for swapping graphics cards you will need to look at the specs again.

milesukaoma
March 18th, 2009, 04:10 PM