PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual booting Vista with Ubuntu 8.10 (Vista installed first)

syedrehan84
March 15th, 2009, 05:46 PM
I AM A BEGINNER to linux and i just installed Ubuntu. I want Vista back as my primary OS when I restart my laptop. What do I need to do that? Also want to leave Ubuntu as my 2nd option.

chubble10
March 15th, 2009, 06:05 PM
I AM A BEGINNER to linux and i just installed Ubuntu. I want Vista back as my primary OS when I restart my laptop. What do I need to do that? Also want to leave Ubuntu as my 2nd option.
You could use Wubi (http://wubi-installer.org/) to install Ubuntu inside Windows. It will then come up with the Windows boot manager every time you boot, with Vista being default, and Ubuntu no. 2.

syedrehan84
March 15th, 2009, 06:14 PM
but ive already installed ubuntu

syedrehan84
March 15th, 2009, 06:16 PM
but I also didn't do it because it said that I will get reduced performance if I install Ubuntu from inside the windows.

Mark Phelps
March 16th, 2009, 05:55 PM
When you boot your laptop, does it go straight into Ubuntu?

If so, once in Ubuntu do the following:
1) Open an editor doing the following in a terminal "gksudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst"
2) This will display the boot options file.
3) Scroll down to the line that says "default" with a number. That is the default OS that will boot, counting from zero.
4) Now scroll down to the bottom of the file, counting the OS boot stanzas. Each one starts with "title". The sequence number of the Windows OS boot is the one you want to change in the "default" line. Remember, it's based on zero. So, if the Windows OS stanza is the 6th one in your file, you replace the "0" with "5".
5) When done, click the diskette icon to save the changes.
6) Reboot