PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ver 8.10 installs but won't boot

gdskgs
March 15th, 2009, 11:13 AM
Install went without hangup. But system stops at a beige screen with a mouse pointer during boot. If I try to boot from Live CD system stops at a black screen with mouse pointer.

Should I try previous version?

Any help is appreciated.

wileybot
March 15th, 2009, 03:56 PM
I have the same problem. Installing on a Dell Dimension 4500s. In my case you can sign on and then it hangs just as you described. Mouse works but keyboard is no good (ps/2). Cant get to the command line control-alt-f2... I am a newbie so I am scouring the sites....

upchucky
March 15th, 2009, 04:49 PM
are the above machines running a nvidia card, if yes, i recommend installing 8.04 instead. 8.10 is not a long term service release, and has known conflicts with nvidia. this is to say that it will work but it is not an easy task. there are known workarounds for nvidia but in the interest of a new user, the tried and true route is probably better. you can play with 8.10 and nvidia later if desired.

as may pc's are different even a long term service release commonly needs settings adjusted to work, so it may very well turn out that you need to set display settings at the command line even to get a display working.

check out resolution problems and cures in the forums.

wileybot
March 15th, 2009, 06:05 PM
In my case the the mobo has onboard graphics and its an intel. None the less I think you are right on backing off and trying a previous release. Its weird since all works well until I log in and then it locks on the beige screen. Thanks again.

gdskgs
March 15th, 2009, 06:20 PM
I have onboard intel video as well.

I just tried booting to the live cd again, this time selecting F4, then safe graphic mode, then enter to continue with boot from cd.

It boots now. So, it must be a graphics issue. Any chance there is a way to use 8.10?

avtolle
March 15th, 2009, 06:25 PM