PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing ubuntu

mac-doggie
March 14th, 2009, 12:06 AM
Hi,

I'm pretty new to linux and ubuntu and decided to try it, so I downloaded the latest version and tried booting from the CD. Everything worked fine so I thought let's try installing it next to my XP installation. It all looked like it was going to work, only when I came to the reboot part of the installation I was given a bootloader error.

Grub loading please wait.

Error 21

So I googled a bit to try to find an answer to this. I figured out that the error means the disc is not recognised by the BIOS or something like that. I tried some different things in the BIOS but it didn't help. So I thought lets just reboot with the windows cd and choose repair mode so I can do a fdisk /mbr.

I inserted my win xp cd but after some loading I was presented a STOP error window (BSOD) Grrr...

I don't have a floppy drive anymore, so creating a bootfloppy also isn't an option...

I'd realy like to get both ubuntu and win xp running, but at least I need to get my windows installation back to work...
At the moment I can only boot from the Ubuntu CD, but that takes more then 5 minutes to boot (is that normal by the way)

I tried some console commands in grub like:

grub> find /boot/grub/stage1
(hd2,0)

grub> root (hd2,0)

grub> setup (hd0)
Checking if "/boot/grub/stage1" exists... yes
Checking if "/boot/grub/stage2" exists... yes
Checking if "/boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5" exists... yes
Running "embed /boot/grub/e2fs_stage1_5 (hd0)"... 16 sectors are embedded.
succeeded
Running "install /boot/grub/stage1 d (hd0) (hd0)1+16 p (hd2,0)/boot/grub/stage
2 /boot/grub/menu.lst"... succeeded
Done.