PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How can I move\resize my Ubuntu partition?

bf109
March 13th, 2009, 07:16 PM
Total newb here so I thought I'd start with fair warning. :D

I have a laptop with a 80gb harddrive running Vista and Ubuntu 8.10. I want to kill the Vista partition (boot partition) and then have my Ubuntu partition be the only OS on the laptop using the entire 80gb HD so that I can setup multiple VM's in VBox. I installed GParted and the drives look like this:

1. Unallocated - 1mb

2. dev/sda1 - 5.59gb NTFS (Vista recovery partition. I would like to image this partition and save on my server for later use if needed).

3. dev/sda2 - 44.53gb NTFS (Vista Home Premium partition) - Boot Partition

4. Unallocated - 6.77mb

5. dev/sda3 - Extended partition - 24.41gb

6. Linux Swap - 1.85gb

7. dev/sda6 - ext3 - 22.55gb (Ubuntu partition)

Please refer to attached GParted screenshot for visual.

The Ubuntu partition is in the extended partition and the recovery partition and the Vista partition look like primary drives.

I need to image and store the recovery partition and then kill all the partitions so that I can resize the ext3 Ubuntu partition to the entire 80gb capacity. Please list open-source imaging utilities to use and if possible a detailed process as I am quite new to Linux but totally loving it!

Thanks in advance.

taurus
March 13th, 2009, 07:22 PM
You know that you cannot resize Ubuntu partition while you are using it, right? If you want to resize your harddrive, you need to use gparted from either Ubuntu LiveCD or GParted LiveCD, http://gparted.sourceforge.net/livecd.php.

And if you want to do a backup, try CloneZilla, http://www.clonezilla.org/.

Therion
March 13th, 2009, 07:31 PM
Looks simple enough to me.

Your Windows install is occupying /sda1 and /sda2.
You would want to remove those two partitions.