PDA

View Full Version : Want to build C++ apps for windows using Linux

trakker01
March 13th, 2009, 07:11 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Linux (about 30 hrs) and right now it is installed on my laptop without any Window OS. What my goal is, is to be able to learn and produce dbase type applications in other languages such as Pascal & C++ for use in Windows and also some for use in Linux. Is this possible? Are there C++ and other language development applications complete with compilers, debuggers, etc. for Windows and Linux ?

e24ohm
March 13th, 2009, 07:16 PM
I am not a programer by any means, but I have done some "C" programming for embedded systems in the past, which were mostly fire control units.

To build "C++" apps you will use g++ to compile your code. You can use "nano", vi or any other editor to write your code.

I have been looking at the Mono project and recently the GTK+ project, and these solutions/Projects might interest you as well.

Good luck

E

Can+~
March 13th, 2009, 07:18 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Linux (about 30 hrs) and right now it is installed on my laptop without any Window OS. What my goal is, is to be able to learn and produce dbase type applications in other languages such as Pascal & C++ for use in Windows and also some for use in Linux. Is this possible? Are there C++ and other language development applications complete with compilers, debuggers, etc. for Windows and Linux ?

"database type applications"? Like writing your own DBMS, or a program that interacts with an existing database?

mcla0203
March 13th, 2009, 07:19 PM
If you start making a UI for your app... I might try running it in Wine. Not all Windows apps work in Wine, but I am guessing if it runs in Wine it will run in Windows.

It does sound a little twisted to me to develop in linux environment for windows apps, but if thats what you savvy give it a shot! It would be interesting to see how it goes.

stevescripts
March 13th, 2009, 07:31 PM