PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Multiple problems Ubuntu 8.10 and MythTV

markosjal
March 13th, 2009, 10:07 AM
I have done at least three previous installations of ubuntu incluting 8.,04 and 6.06 PPC version. I have some experience with other distros of Linux as well.

I want to bring up the following issues as it relates to 8.10.

First the 8.10 CD takes substantially longer than 8.04 on the SAME system. IN fact it took so long, i thought the system had frozen initially.

The drivers for some older ATI cards appear to have been removed, I think think 8.04 had GATOS drives that supported the ATI all in Wonder Rage Pro. I did find another package that supports NEWER ATI cards but the Rage Pro is not listed. I suspect my ATI card is probably only being supported as a standard VGA. I know that the ATI all in wonde ris somewhat limited, but this system was only to test the possibilities of MythTV.

Myth TV is almost a joke, after multiple attempts and reading multiple threads it appears I am not alone in the issues configuring Myth TV. There is a need to ensure that this set up actually works and is easy and not a week long project.

It is a sad state that Ubuntu 8.10 is in , and I only chose it over 8.04 because supposedly it had better integration of MythTV , but in BOTH cases I was greeted with the same myth Database errors.

Also on a side note I find the name references to the various Ubuntu releases as quite confusing, especially when not used in conjunction with the release version number such as 8.10 or 8.04, etc. I am sure I am not the only one that has had to look up which was feisty and which was Dapper. I am sure it is easy for those who have followed Ubuntu, but when looking to resolve issues, one really needs to understand what issues were relevant to which versions, without making it more work.

I had to get this off my chest and will be looking for a new solution to my media center needs, despite having been a proponent of previous versions of Ubuntu.