PDA

View Full Version : [newbie] Project Euler question

tcoffeep
March 11th, 2009, 06:51 PM
Hello.

I have recently written an answer to Project Euler in a few languages, ( Ruby, Perl, Python), and have a question. As to not give out the answer to anyone who wants to learn it for themselves, I request that someone who has knowledge of the three languages to PM me.
It is a matter of speed, and if there is any way I can make Ruby and Python work faster. I'm new to the languages, and have learned a few things thanks to PE, but there are still some quirks I need to sort out in regards to speed and functionality.

So, if anyone would be kind enough. I'd be extremely thankful.

Oh, and just to point out which question, specifically, it is Problem #25.

NOTE : I am not looking for answers, as I've stated. Merely looking to figure out how to be more precise with each style.

Ruby does it in : ~2.7 seconds
Python does it in : ~2.1 seconds
Perl does it in : 1 second

monkeyking
March 11th, 2009, 07:14 PM
You should atleast give a link to the webpage.
Or even better make a copy paste.

Without more information, I can't help you.
But If you are using python32bit
Then look into the psycho package.
Good luck

tcoffeep
March 11th, 2009, 07:19 PM
The Fibonacci sequence is defined by the recurrence relation:

F_(n) = F_(n−1) + F_(n−2), where F_(1) = 1 and F_(2) = 1.

Hence the first 12 terms will be:

F_(1) = 1
F_(2) = 1
F_(3) = 2
F_(4) = 3
F_(5) = 5
F_(6) = 8
F_(7) = 13
F_(8 ) = 21
F_(9) = 34
F_(10) = 55
F_(11) = 89
F_(12) = 144

The 12th term, F_(12), is the first term to contain three digits.

What is the first term in the Fibonacci sequence to contain 1000 digits?

From Project Euler.

Unfortunately, my Linux box is down until I get my power jack resoldered, so I'm doing this in vista. I think I read that in order to use psyco (sp?) in vista, I need cygwin, and I'm not sure how to implement it. It was rather buggy, last I used it.

monkeyking
March 11th, 2009, 07:34 PM
ahh ok,