PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Failed attempt to install dual boot 8.10/Vista Home

JerryI
March 11th, 2009, 03:13 PM
I have tried to create a dual boot system for Ubuntu 8.10/Vista Home, starting by shrinking my Vista space to leave 40GB unallocated for Ubuntu. The computer is amd AMD64 with 2GB RAM. First I created a Ubuntu i386 disk and got all kinds of buffer read/write errors in spite of a valid integrity check and a valid hash check to make sure the iso file size was right. So then I created a Ubuntu amd64 install disk and tried again. This time no errors were reported, but the install only got to the big ugly brown picture with no further instructions (hung overnight). An interesting twist is that my system is dual monitor and that everything up to the final appearance of the big brown picture was on the left monitor, but the picture appeared on the right monitor.

I have very little experience. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

t0mppa
March 11th, 2009, 07:40 PM
First I created a Ubuntu i386 disk and got all kinds of buffer read/write errors in spite of a valid integrity check and a valid hash check to make sure the iso file size was right.

If by disc you mean a CD/DVD, try using Unetbootin http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/ and putting the install files on either a hard drive partition or a USB stick, that are much more reliable in order to get rid of the buffer read/write issues.

So then I created a Ubuntu amd64 install disk and tried again. This time no errors were reported, but the install only got to the big ugly brown picture with no further instructions (hung overnight). An interesting twist is that my system is dual monitor and that everything up to the final appearance of the big brown picture was on the left monitor, but the picture appeared on the right monitor.