PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] dual boot installation partitioning prob

petemga
March 10th, 2009, 12:29 AM
This is my first time trying to install ubuntu and/or Linux for that matter and I am a complete noob at it. I began the installation and once I get to the partitioning part where it says "Prepare Partitions" and shows my HD's. I pick the first of my 3 drives, which is the one with Windows XP on it. It is an 80GB drive with 58gigs used and the rest free, so I select the drive (dev/sda1) and click on edit partition when another box pops up that says "Edit a Partition". The choices in this box are "new partition size in megabytes", "use as:" with a drop down box that has choices like NTFS and swap area, a check box that says format the partition and another drop down box that "says mount point" with /windows and /dos in the drop down box. So I enter a partition size of about 5GB or 5200MB and select NTFS from the first drop down box and select OK and then I get a box that pops up that says "Too small size". I have searched the forums and read a lot, but am still quite a nood at linux. All I want to do is create a partition in my C: drive so i can istall ubuntu which in all the guides I read seemed so easy.

Thanks ahead for you time.

upchucky
March 10th, 2009, 01:00 AM
xp needs about 25 gig, this is because some brainless developers are still writing programs that will only install on the c drive. the only thing that should be on a windows c drive is the operating system period, that way when windows self destructs as it is designed to do, it is a simple matter to just restore it from your back up image that you were clever enough to make using NTFSclone, and not have to reinstall any other programs and files. and the fact that windows by default dynamically changes its swap file size whether it needs to or not, in fact it uses the swap file even if there is excessive amounts of ram.