PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Lost Desktop

Pablo W
March 9th, 2009, 11:59 PM
Hello everyone. I'm a newbie and I guess I've made a silly mistake, but I don't know how to fix it.

The problem: I have lost the Ubuntu Desktop. That is, I don't have the upper bar wich gives acces to all applications. I don't know how to run the package manager to download the lost desktop package. Any ideas as to how to do it?

Background information: I uninstalled it unintentionally. I was getting lots of "update" suggestions, including recommended updates for Evolution. Since I don't use Evolution and I am not interested in getting its updates, I went to the package manager and uninstalled all what had "evoluciˇn" in the package name, but it seems I've gone too far (because I lost my desktop).

Thanks for your help.

UbuntuNerd
March 10th, 2009, 12:40 AM
you probably removed your desktop, hit (Ctrl+Alt+f1) to go to the terminal. log in and enter your password, then enter this code at the prompt:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
this code will reinstall your desktop, after is done hit (alt f7) to get back to your desktop to see if it work

Mud.Knee.Havoc
March 10th, 2009, 12:41 AM
I can't answer your question related to Evolution.

I can, however, help you out with getting the upper bar back. Basically, the gnome desktop is pretty easy to customize. You can create a new bar by following these steps:

1. Put your mouse over the bar on the bottom of the screen
2. Right click, choose "New Panel". This will make a new panel (bar) appear somewhere on the screen. I just tried it and it put it on the right side. It doesn't matter where it is, you can move it.
3. Move the bar to the top of the screen if it isn't there already.
4. Add stuff to the bar that you feel should be there. To do this, right click and select "Add to panel". Select:
- Menu Bar (don't confuse with Main Menu, which is similar, but has everything in one little button)
- Clock