PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Easiest way to make a partition for Windows XP?

Edward B.
March 9th, 2009, 04:15 AM
I just solved a problem that resulted in wonky graphic glitches on my Ubuntu desktop, and I'm pretty satisfied with it as an OS except I can't play no games! Or just a select few games anyway.

What's the easiest way for me to create a partition to install Windows XP on and a few games = Rome: Total War and maybe Tropico?

I have no experience doing this - how will I choose which OS to boot into when turning on the computer?

How do I delete Windows XP if I need to after I create the partition?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Lostin60's
March 9th, 2009, 05:15 AM
I just solved a problem that resulted in wonky graphic glitches on my Ubuntu desktop, and I'm pretty satisfied with it as an OS except I can't play no games! Or just a select few games anyway.

What's the easiest way for me to create a partition to install Windows XP on and a few games = Rome: Total War and maybe Tropico?

I have no experience doing this - how will I choose which OS to boot into when turning on the computer?

How do I delete Windows XP if I need to after I create the partition?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Typically, you should install Windows first. If you install it after Ubuntu, it will foul up the grub boot manager. My Windows does not even recognize my Ubuntu..lists it as free space..lol With Windows already in, Ubuntu will take care of the boot issue when installing.

You might also see if your games run under Wine.

aa

Edward B.
March 9th, 2009, 07:32 PM
Typically, you should install Windows first. If you install it after Ubuntu, it will foul up the grub boot manager. My Windows does not even recognize my Ubuntu..lists it as free space..lol With Windows already in, Ubuntu will take care of the boot issue when installing.

You might also see if your games run under Wine.

aa

Son of a B!