PDA

View Full Version : Harddrive Quality

xequence
December 28th, 2005, 01:25 AM
What hard drive manufacturer has the best quality, in your opinion?

BSDFreak
December 28th, 2005, 01:27 AM
What hard drive manufacturer has the best quality, in your opinion?

Seagate

23meg
December 28th, 2005, 01:27 AM
Be prepared to read the most positive and the most negative possible comments about the same brand from different people.

I've had the best experiences with Maxtor and Western Digital, and the worst with Seagate and IBM's Deskstar drives (some of which I think were recalled later due to a proven defect).

noco37
December 28th, 2005, 01:42 AM
I have never had a problem with a Western Digital and Maxtor is a close second. I was raised to hate Seagate ( bad influances on BBBSs ).

I will never buy a no name drive again. They have been worse the POS, next to a Conner, of course.

BSDFreak
December 28th, 2005, 01:43 AM
Seagate

I should perhaps clarify this, i have had little experience with SCSI drives other than Seagate and very little experience with other drives than WD's and Seagates running IDE configs but for me, Seagate has proven themselves whild the WD/IBM drives (same manufacturer) have given me headaches, i have heard good things about Maxtor IDE drives and they are usually cheaper too.

prizrak
December 28th, 2005, 01:44 AM
I had no problems with any drives actually :) The only time an HDD died on me (or even got bad clusters) in like 18 years was a laptop drive. Don't remember if it was Toshiba or Hitachi. Desktop drives never died, I use Western Digitals right now though and I hear that Maxtors are the worst.

fordfan753
December 28th, 2005, 01:48 AM
I love my WD drive, never had a problem with it, and it was fairly cheap too.

BSDFreak
December 28th, 2005, 02:15 AM