PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Newbie needs upgrade Help!

lisadob
March 9th, 2009, 03:05 AM
I'm a linux newbie and I'm trying to upgrade from version 6.10 to whatever the latest version is. My OS says the newest version for me available is 7.04 but whenever I go to upgrade the server times out or it says the update could not be completed. This is both running it from the installed version on my computer and directly from the cd I have as well. Any suggestions on how I can easily upgrade?

Neo_The_User
March 9th, 2009, 03:07 AM
Applications > Accesories > Terminal

Type this in

gksudo update-manager -d

And... Upgrade.

9.04 is the latest you can get.

lisadob
March 9th, 2009, 03:15 AM
thanks, that worked but then I ended up back where I began where it says "Could not download all repository indexes" (?) and it has a huge list of files it could not dl. Any other suggestions? I bought the cd so I wouldn't have to figure out how to dl this online but I may have to buck up and learn how I guess.

Neo_The_User
March 9th, 2009, 03:28 AM
Hmmm... Let me see your sources.list file.

Terminal:

gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

Copy and paste the whole thing.

My dad has this error a lot when just updating the repos but I personally never experienced this.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1090963 I made a post there. Might wanna check it out.

Partyboi2
March 9th, 2009, 06:20 AM
thanks, that worked but then I ended up back where I began where it says "Could not download all repository indexes" (?) and it has a huge list of files it could not dl. Any other suggestions? I bought the cd so I wouldn't have to figure out how to dl this online but I may have to buck up and learn how I guess.
Feisty (7.04) has reached its end of life. Which means to get to a supported version could be a little difficult. The easier method would be to back up your important stuff to another medium and do a clean install of hardy (8.04) or Intrepid (8.10)

Neo_The_User