PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot Install (Errors after kernel loads from disk)

ianmprice
March 9th, 2009, 02:11 AM
To start out im fairly new to linux, however im very experienced with computers.

I recieve these errors when trying to install either 8.10 or 8.04 on the box ive designated as my server.

http://img25.imageshack.us/img25/5994/img0023jwy.jpg

Ive tried a few of the boot modifiers from the disk but it does the same thing. Ive tried the disk on other systems and it works fine.

I've also had 8.04 installed on this box up untill this afternoon when i wanted to reinstall and start over. Ive tried to search for help but im not even sure what the problem is so i am unable to efficiently search for help.

hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

Thank you for your help.

*edit*
resized annoyingly oversized photo.

Neo_The_User
March 9th, 2009, 02:26 AM
And it just loops those lines over and over and over again? 8.04 and 8.10, same drive, drive works fine in other computer? That cancels out it being a problem with the Ubuntu kernel and a faulty drive. Ummm, flaky motherboard?

ianmprice
March 9th, 2009, 02:29 AM
for a few minutes it does. all the while the left hand number continues to increment. after a few minutes it goes to a black screen. i am able to enter text, but there is no intelligle response from the box. I can however ctrl+alt+del and it will signal a kill and restart.

Possibly a flaky MoBo, but once it was installed the system was running fine. So i would like to try to figure out what conditions allowed it to install.

*side note*

Winxp installs fine.

Neo_The_User
March 9th, 2009, 02:36 AM
See if that drive is supported by any linux kernel. Try (just to see if it works) and see if you can run Fedora, OpenSUSE, Mandriva, or whatever on there. Fedora requires i686 CPU for live cd, Mandriva requires i586, OpenSUSE is i586, I can't think of any 100% i386 OSes ATM besides debian right now.....

ianmprice