PDA

View Full Version : [other] Grub Error 21?

Guns90
March 8th, 2009, 11:39 PM
I have been using ubuntu for a couple of years now, and I decided to try some other distros. In light of ubuntu being debian-based, I thought debian would be a good place to start.

Any way, I did a complete and clean install of debian 500 amd 64 on to a usb external drive. Before the install, I had a dual boot set up with Vista and ubuntu, each on its own internal drive. Once the install of debian was complete, I did as instructed and removed the cd from the drive and rebooted. Upon boot-up, I get the following:

GRUB Loading stage1.5.

GRUB Loading, please wait...
Error 21

and that's wear I'm stuck. I've tried to beboot a couple of times, but the aforementioned screen is all I get.

Does someone know how to get me going again? Thanks. Gary

Asus M2N32-SLI Premium Vista Edition
AMD Athlon x 2 6400+
4 GB Kingston RAM
EVGA 8800 GT
Western Digital 320 GB (2)

Neo_The_User
March 8th, 2009, 11:41 PM
Grub Error 21 means the kernel binary image can't be found. Post output of menu.lst and the kernels in /boot.

Guns90
March 8th, 2009, 11:45 PM
NEO, I can't get that computer to boot up. That Grub Error 21 is as far as I can get. I think I need to somehow make a bootup disk of Grub and then make repairs, but I don't have a clue how to do that.

Neo_The_User
March 8th, 2009, 11:46 PM
Ah I wasn't aware that it doesn't boot up at all. Put in a livecd of some sort in the computer and copy the kernel on the disc onto the hard drive and modify menu.lst

Guns90
March 8th, 2009, 11:49 PM
I'm going to try and reboot, but this time I'm going to have a look at my BIOS. Maybe I'm not setup to boot into a usb drive. I'll be back.

Guns90
March 9th, 2009, 12:47 AM