PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] dual boot after trying live cd

kaporal p.
March 8th, 2009, 09:37 PM
Hello All,

I am using Ubuntu from a live cd. I set it up about 2 weeks ago as dual boot.
When I start the pc with cd in, it offers to choose btwn xp and Ubuntu and with no cd in xp starts automatically, so I think everything is fine with the cd I burned.

Now I would like to install this same set-up for good so I wouldn't need the cd anymore and still keep xp for a while because I'm a newb. Possible? Where do you go from there? I can't find any install options, not even when I boot.

Thanks.

whoop
March 8th, 2009, 09:43 PM
If you run the livecd there should be an icon on the desktop labeled install. Like in the following screenshot:
http://www.geocities.com/mahyuddin_s/panduan_files/image008.jpg

That will install ubuntu on your hard drive (with dual boot if that is what you want).

kaporal p.
March 8th, 2009, 09:47 PM
There is no such Icon!?

I tried a few things since I got the live cd so maybe I put it somewhere else... could I find it somewhere else if its not on the desktop?

lindsay7
March 8th, 2009, 10:11 PM
iF Yyou set up a dual boot system, you would not need to start from the cd itself. as you discrib. So something sound strange. If you did install Ubuntu under windows xp or if it is set up as a true dual boot with you hard drive partitions, would not see the install icon on the desktop. This is only there with the live install mode.

kaporal p.
March 8th, 2009, 10:17 PM
When I set-up the live cd, I chose dual boot, that's all I remember. Now, I really do need the cd to get Ubunto going, otherwise, there is no sign of it. Also, if I take the cd out, Ubuntu doesn't work anymore, so I think it's live cd. But then, still no Icon?
I've also never been asked anything about repartitionning.

???

lindsay7
March 8th, 2009, 10:33 PM