PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mounting an NTFS partition



Driventemple
March 8th, 2009, 05:07 PM
Hi,

I'm a new Ubuntu convert (Ithink!) I have a NTFS partition on the harddisk with all my data I will need to transfer. I installed 8.10 and when I try to find my data its not where I expected it to be - /media/windows. Using GParted I can see the partition: dev/sda2.

sudo mount /dev/sda2 /media/disk gives me this message:

$LogFile indicates unclean shutdown (0, 0)
Failed to mount '/dev/sda2': Operation not supported
Mount is denied because NTFS is marked to be in use. Choose one action:

Choice 1: If you have Windows then disconnect the external devices by
clicking on the 'Safely Remove Hardware' icon in the Windows
taskbar then shutdown Windows cleanly.

Choice 2: If you don't have Windows then you can use the 'force' option for
your own responsibility. For example type on the command line:

mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda2 /media/disk -o force

Or add the option to the relevant row in the /etc/fstab file:

/dev/sda2 /media/disk ntfs-3g force 0 0

When try to use mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda2 /media/disk -o force

I get the message 'only root can do that'. I am unable to log on as root either using my own password or none.

Sorry if this is a simple matter that a 'wimp' can't handle, but some help would be appreciated

taurus
March 8th, 2009, 05:10 PM
Are you the original user that you created during the installing process? When it asks for your password, you won't see any display, not even ***, on the screen when you type in your password so make sure you type the right one and hit Return.

You can fix that problem for your ntfs filesystem with ntfsfix.


sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install ntfsprogs
sudo ntfsfix /dev/sda2
sudo mkdir /media/sda2
sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda2 /media/sda2
df -h

Driventemple
March 8th, 2009, 05:18 PM
Worked perfectly! Thank you very much:D

mrbiggbrain
March 8th, 2009, 06:20 PM
Worked perfectly! Thank you very much:D

actualy it works sloppy, its best to release the drive if you can, doing this simply requires a proper shutdown of the windows partition.