PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing nVIDIA 180.29 Driver

VarthDader
March 8th, 2009, 02:15 PM
Hi all. I'm new to Ubuntu. I installed 8.04 today and I can't get my nVIDIA drivers installed on it. I've tried

sudo sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.29-pkg1.run
When I try this, I get an error saying that the file can't be opened. I also tried this in the command line after stopping GNOME.

Any help would be appreciated

anilcr
March 8th, 2009, 02:22 PM
try this

chmod u+x NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.29-pkg1.run
sudo sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.29-pkg1.run

VarthDader
March 8th, 2009, 02:27 PM
It says file not found when I use

chmod u+x NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.29-pkg1.run

The file is on the desktop. Should I have put it elsewhere?

anilcr
March 8th, 2009, 02:31 PM
why dont you try this:
1.right click on the file -> properties.
2.go to permissions tab and then click on Allow executing file as program
3.then try sudo sh NVida-...

Speed Demon
March 8th, 2009, 02:31 PM
You can use Ubuntu's binary drivers, which are pretty well point-click-type-go for the install. Just use System->Administration->Hardware Drivers ((I THINK, may be other name)) and go from there!

VarthDader
March 8th, 2009, 02:45 PM
I tried the chmod after checking the allow file as program and still same issue.

And when I tried the Harware drivers, it just shows a blank page. :(

Therion
March 8th, 2009, 02:51 PM
Open the Terminal and before you do anything else you need to go to your Desktop directory where you've stored the file:
cd ~/Desktop

NOW try using sudo sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-180.29-pkg1.run

Also, note it's a CAPITAL "D" in Desktop. :)

anilcr
March 8th, 2009, 02:54 PM
got the same problem here too I installed an hardy on my desktop today same problem on that can't install from hardware drivers. I also installed nvidia-glx-new and new-dev from the repos. didn't seem to work. I'm using amd64

VarthDader
March 8th, 2009, 02:57 PM