PDA

View Full Version : Building a desktop

PhoHammer
March 8th, 2009, 06:01 AM
So I'm contemplating/planning the building of a desktop computer.

I want it to be reasonably priced when all is said and done (<$750 for the whole gig, including monitor) and
I want it to be GNU/Linux friendly (ubuntu will probably reside in it for the most part).

Do you guys have any tips on this friendliness towards Linux? Any "must have's" or "stear clear of's" that
I should consider before diving in at newegg?

I just saw this thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1090108) as I came to post this so I'll take another gander at your rigs here in a bit.

Oh and this is my first build, so I have some research to do on every piece of hardware first:)

Merps
March 8th, 2009, 06:06 AM
as an alternative to the usual amd intel nvidia gear, why not try looking at the alternatives of Via C7 with OCZ ram, sun/solar sparc, and ibm power.

Skripka
March 8th, 2009, 06:14 AM
So I'm contemplating/planning the building of a desktop computer.

I want it to be reasonably priced when all is said and done (<$750 for the whole gig, including monitor) and
I want it to be GNU/Linux friendly (ubuntu will probably reside in it for the most part).

Do you guys have any tips on this friendliness towards Linux? Any "must have's" or "stear clear of's" that
I should consider before diving in at newegg?

I just saw this thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1090108) as I came to post this so I'll take another gander at your rigs here in a bit.

Oh and this is my first build, so I have some research to do on every piece of hardware first:)

How big or small a monitor are you prepared to go with? This will be the single most expensive individual item to buy in all liklihood. Look at reviews-every monitor is different in how accurately renders color.

CPU and motherboard are the next most expensive individual items-but are the most critical in determining how everything else works.