PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] The dreaded SoundBlaster X-fi which makes no sound

tracerbullet
March 8th, 2009, 02:45 AM
Hey Absolute Beginner Talk!

Due to recent... happenings, I am preparing my desktop computer for a complete switch to Ubuntu. At this time I'm almost ready, I just need to iron out the last little kinks and quirks in my plan.

First of all, and this is the important question:

I can't get my Crative SoundBlaster X-fi XtremeMusic sound card to work in Ubuntu.

I have tried a couple of times already. The first time was a few years ago, when I did a full install of (I think it was) Hardy Heron (or possibly the one before that). During this period I remember that I could not get the normal alsa installation to work with it, and I believe I tried building a few drivers from source as well, including oss.

Then, earlier today I booted a Hardy Heron live CD and it would not give me any sound.

lspc -v detects the sound card, but the little volume control button on the top menu does not.

My question then remains, what do I do to get this naughty sound card to play nice with Ubuntu?

I have a couple of live CDs at hand, one has Hardy Heron (7.?) and the other has Intrepid Ibex (8.10).

Another option is to go ahead and completely melt wipe my hard drive and install Ubuntu before attacking the problem.

But this is not the most attractive option since it means I will have to do it all over again in a week if I can't find a solution to this problem.

My second question is quite banal really, I am just wondering if 8.10 (which I already have a copy of) is the right choice, or if I should use another version. I hear 8.04 is the current "most" stable release?

Post script:

There is always the option of buying a shiny new sound card. But the computer in question is getting fairly old (built Oct 2005) that it might be a whole other challenge in itself to find compatible parts in this day and age?