PDA

View Full Version : The day Linux overtakes Windows?

DannyP87
March 7th, 2009, 09:37 PM
Do you think there will ever be a day?

I'm just getting started with Linux/Ubuntu and I'm quite amazed by the sheer size of the Ubuntu community. Linux aside when I also looked at Open Office I was undoubtedly impressed with it's capability compared to office.

It's something I've kind of thought about doing for a while but never had the balls to do it. Until recently.

Obviously with anything knew it takes getting used to and problems will arise but do you ever think major governments and worldwide companies will switch to Linux other than their servers. I'm aware this probably happens in a minority, but I mean to the point were literally the majority of desktop computers whether private, commercial or government actually run a Linux based computer.

cptrohn
March 7th, 2009, 09:45 PM

I'm just getting started with Linux/Ubuntu and I'm quite amazed by the sheer size of the Ubuntu community. Linux aside when I also looked at Open Office I was undoubtedly impressed with it's capability compared to office.

It's something I've kind of thought about doing for a while but never had the balls to do it. Until recently.

Obviously with anything knew it takes getting used to and problems will arise but do you ever think major governments and worldwide companies will switch to Linux other than their servers. I'm aware this probably happens in a minority, but I mean to the point were literally the majority of desktop computers whether private, commercial or government actually run a Linux based computer.

From what I have read the US DOD has already switched to Linux, and in my home state all of the school systems are switching to Linux as well... hard to beat free.

davec64
March 7th, 2009, 09:51 PM
I'd heard of several governments around the world using linux, so I thought I would google it and see if I could find a list. Here it is, quite interesting!