PDA

View Full Version : Intellectual snobbery - how do you avoid it?

Mazza558
March 7th, 2009, 06:13 PM
For quite a lot of people in this forum, they have a detailed knowledge of how computers function, both at the software and hardware level - this is bound to be the case, given the nature of the forum. I think this gives some people a tendency to talk over the heads of everyone who isn't quite as knowledgeable - seemingly talking in a different language when going into detail.

How do you avoid "talking over people's heads"?

matthew
March 7th, 2009, 06:19 PM
It takes a conscious choice and lots of attention while writing.

This is precisely why we created the Absolute Beginners area, to remind people helping that those asking questions there need things broken down as simply as possible. In other locations, it is safer to presume some level of knowledge as a base, and follow-up questions are generally dealt with quite well by our community.

We have worked very hard from the beginning to make this a community that is extremely friendly to newcomers. I don't see much snobbery in terms of attitude--we even forbid the worst forms of it in the CoC. For the other parts, like unintentionally talking over someone's head, are things that can be corrected in follow-up questions or by paying extra attention in locations like Absolute Beginners.

Naiki Muliaina
March 7th, 2009, 06:23 PM
I do not see it much in the newbie help place here where it matters. I also do not see the 'your an idiot cause you cant do x y z' like i have on another Linux forum here.

Any other cases of talking over peoples heads i am sure is unintentional on these forums.

mips
March 7th, 2009, 06:33 PM
How do you avoid "talking over people's heads"?

It's hard to do is all I know.

As for the title I would not call it snobbery.

MikeTheC
March 7th, 2009, 07:37 PM
The Concise Oxford Dictionary, Ninth Edition: Page 1316