PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 8.10 Wireless help



DefConNegative5
March 6th, 2009, 09:34 PM
I'm on an Inspiron 8000, using microsoft MN-720 wireless card. I followed some instructions to install drivers and got the card working, for the most part. I go into System/Administration/Network, and it actually sees my network - so I set it up. I can also go into System/Preferences/Network Configuration to set it up.

The only problem is it doesn't connect. In the network icon in the top right of the desktop, I see Auto Eth0 for the wired - but wirless connections is greyed out.

What am I doing wrong? Please help! It seems like I'm so close. Here's my ifconfig results:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:75:16:f0:8e
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:10 Base address:0x6c00

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:968 (968.0 B) TX bytes:968 (968.0 B)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0d:3a:6d:66:f0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:10 Memory:f4000000-f4002000

wlan0:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0d:3a:6d:66:f0
inet addr:169.254.8.17 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Interrupt:10 Memory:f4000000-f4002000


And also here is my /etc/network/interfaces

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback



iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wireless-mode managed
wireless-key ABCDEF1234
wireless-essid default

wireless-channel 6
auto wlan0

N04h
March 7th, 2009, 05:38 AM
Have you checked for restricted drivers or updated your system?

DefConNegative5
March 10th, 2009, 01:41 PM
Does anyone know what that 169.255.*.* address is? Sometimes I get it when I'm using Windows and its not a valid address from my router's DHCP, and it does not successfully connect.