PDA

View Full Version : Keyboard HELL!

Klaz168
March 6th, 2009, 05:12 PM
Did you ever imagine that a Keyboard would drive you nuts oneday? Making you scratch your head and feeling like a total newbie?

Okay here is a story for you, showing that Keyboards are really EVIL!

I went yesterday to a relative of mine, who bought a brand new computer and wanted me to pimp it for him, (because I'm the legendary computer techie of the family, hey!)

First, I managed to repartition his HDD, so I plugged in Ubuntu live cd, repartitioned, formatted etc. then plugged in Windows XP installation cd (because he wanted Windows XP, yes, I wish I could just install Ubuntu and move on my way!)

The installation went ok, then got to the stage where you should restart your computer, so I restarted the computer, n found the setup starting from scratch, AGAIN! So, I just rebooted the computer again, after removing the CD and let it boot from HDD.

Installation was done, rebooted again and then got into Windows. First surprise was, I was in safe mode. Also I didn manage to do that, so I rebooted again, spammed F8 and chose the Normal boot option, Windows booted up in safe mode, YET AGAIN.

At this stage I felt, 'kinda' lost.. googled and found some solutions they included checking the msconfig and removing the /safeboot option. Did that, plus all the solutions I could find, but I was still not able to boot normally.

I started scratching my head, thinking what would cause that... ummm I was completely lost. More googling for about an hour lead me to a topic, where some guy had the same problem.

At first the computer was booting from cd all the time, (maybe it was drunk, or just didnt like me) then after sucessfull installation, it booted in safe mode all the time.