PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing programs

SuperIntense
March 6th, 2009, 04:48 AM
I am very new at linux and I want to learn more. My question is under Ubunto how do I download and install programs? It seems to be confusing to new people like myself. I really want to make Linux work for me. There are a couple of areas such as terminal and Synaptic that I do not understand what they are for. If I can master downloads and installs I think I acn learn more about Linux. I am very familiar with Windows so if you respond and there are ways you need to describe these based on the windows environment it is ok to use that terminaology.

lykwydchykyn
March 6th, 2009, 04:50 AM
Synaptic is how you download and install programs. You search for things in Synaptic and select "install", hit "apply" and they are installed.

stumbleUpon
March 6th, 2009, 06:20 AM
Read the documentation here

https://help.ubuntu.com/8.10/add-applications/C/index.html

martrn
March 6th, 2009, 06:41 AM
You can install programs like lykwydchykyn said above or open a terminal and type away

Select Run Command From the menu and type
gnome-terminal

APT The Advanced Packaging Tool
-------------------------------
The Advanced Packaging Tool, or APT, the package name containing the set of tools and core libraries that handle the installation and removal of software on GNU/Linux debian or Ubuntu systems. A significant part of apt is set of library functions that handle package management tasks to complete the full installation of software.

There is no single "apt" program.
apt-get and
apt-cache are front-end programs that can be used from the terminal for dealing with packages. Apt-get and apt-cache install and unpack software the vary same way Synaptic does, and uses the apt libraries.