PDA

View Full Version : Class functions in Python

ranthal
March 6th, 2009, 12:41 AM
So I just started learning Python and in my __init__ for a class I want to check if a certain name is valid so I created a function:

def valid(name):
if name in nameAddrs:
return True
else:
return False

where nameAddrs is a dictionary. It works fine when I leave it outside of the class, but when it is inside it and I call it during init I receive:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
File "reg.py", line 62, in md
reg = Class(name)
File "reg.py", line 32, in __init__
if valid(name):
NameError: global name 'valid' is not defined

Why is this? Is there a better way to do this since a lot of the ideas behind Python are still new to me?

cabalas
March 6th, 2009, 12:53 AM
with python the first argument of any method belonging to a class is the self keyword so for your code it would be:

def valid(self, name):
if name in nameAddrs:
return True
else:
return False

though you don't pass the self parameter when you call the function all that is taken care of automagically.

ranthal
March 6th, 2009, 02:07 AM
with python the first argument of any method belonging to a class is the self keyword

ok makes sense. just to clarify-even though the method doesn't utilize self anywhere it should still be included as the first argument so that Python knows it is a method of the class?

Can+~
March 6th, 2009, 02:11 AM
ok makes sense. just to clarify-even though the method doesn't utilize self anywhere it should still be included as the first argument so that Python knows it is a method of the class?

Yes, but that's not the purpose of "self".

self represents the class itself, and whenever you call a function inside a class (either from outside or inside), the class itself sends the "self" into said function. So whenever your function is called it's handled:

(self, the rest of the arguments....)