PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 8.10 Install issues

aidan1990n
March 5th, 2009, 05:46 AM
Hi everyone, I am new to linux. This is my first time trying to get it up and running and I am having some issues. I downloaded both the main install for 8.10 desktop and the alternate install.

When I boot off the main install disc, the Ubuntu loading screen comes up, and I select "install". However it then goes to load a next screen with the loading bar and Ubuntu written above it.

The loading bar scrolls left and right about 6-10 times, then starts to load from the left to right. It makes it about 4 bars in then stops and freezes. After about a 5 minute wait it comes up with errors. I also tried selecting the option on the main install screen "check cd for defects" and it comes up with 3 defects found.

I have no idea how to correct these and get Ubuntu running.

When I tried to use the alternate install everything went fine upto the "installing base system" step. It would stop at 6% and come up with an error, then at 32% and comes up with another, and then at 85% it would stop completely and say that the install failed.

Does anyone have any solutions on how to get my Ubuntu up and running, I used it at my cousins house and found that I quite enjoyed it over my Windows which I am currently running.

On this PC I want to have 2 partitions, one with my Windows XP Media Center, and the other with Ubuntu.

Thanks in advance for any help, it is much appreciated :)

abn91c
March 5th, 2009, 05:53 AM
re-burn the cd at 4x speed, use a cdr disk

aidan1990n
March 5th, 2009, 05:57 AM
re-burn the cd at 4x speed, use a cdr disk

Alright, I will try this. I used a CD-r each time before, I now have 4 copies of the normal install disc for the desktop version.

However, I did those burnings with the max speed. I will start right away with 4x.

pikpolly
March 5th, 2009, 11:34 AM
Is your graphics card a nvidia?

linux_tech
March 5th, 2009, 01:39 PM
what are the system specs?

aidan1990n