PDA

View Full Version : A guy stepped on a landmine close to where I live

Eisenwinter
March 4th, 2009, 10:19 PM
Hey.

So as you all (or most) probably know, I live in Israel. (and if you don't, just look to the left, and see "Location")

So, I live in the northern part of the country, and 40 years ago there was a war here, so the place is full of land mines.

Of course, they're all enclosed by fences with barbed wire and clear warning signs telling people not go there.

But on Sunday, just when I came back from at around 12:30pm (for those of you wondering, I'm a dairy farmer, I started work at 3am), I was getting ready to get some rest, and suddenly I heard an explosion, sounded rather close (about 2 kilometers or so).

I just thought it was military training.

In the evening I went to my parents' house, and my mom asked me if I heard about the guy who lost his leg. I said no, I didn't, and she told me that earlier a guy from Thailand, who came here to work, has stepped on a landmine in the old abandoned military camp, not too far from here (I can get there on foot in about 15 - 20 minutes).

I was shocked. I had actually heard the explosion, I heard it when it happened!

In the dairy farm I work with other guys from Thailand, and they know him.

He is now in the hospital, as far as I know. I hope he'll be alright.

But it just makes you think, I mean man, he's from the lowest class possible. What is he going to do now? Where is he going to work? How is he going to provide for his family?

It's heart breaking.

You are all welcome to share your thoughts.

jimi_hendrix
March 4th, 2009, 10:21 PM
why was he poking around the camp?

Eisenwinter
March 4th, 2009, 10:26 PM
That's exactly what I was wondering, and the answer is unknown.

It was 2 guys, they were hanging around there, I don't know why.

The other guy called for help.

Maheriano
March 4th, 2009, 10:28 PM