PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] screen size too big

lozzy
March 4th, 2009, 08:26 PM
hi.. im totally new to ubuntu.... and my screen resolution is way too big.... cant get anything other than i think its 960x600 (16.10)???
i am no expert and dont know what to do as i need to get the screen size smaller so can anyone help me in the simplest way possible??? please ??

thanks

NoReflex
March 4th, 2009, 08:39 PM
Hello!

What video card do you have (ATI, nVIDIA, Intel)?
I have a nVIDIA 8600 mobile on my notebook and I use nvidia-settings to change resolution, multiple monitors etc.
You should install the proprietary driver for your video card. Just go to System -> Administration -> Hardware drivers and see what drivers are available.

Best wishes,
NoReflex

lozzy
March 5th, 2009, 09:49 AM
Hello!

What video card do you have (ATI, nVIDIA, Intel)?
I have a nVIDIA 8600 mobile on my notebook and I use nvidia-settings to change resolution, multiple monitors etc.
You should install the proprietary driver for your video card. Just go to System -> Administration -> Hardware drivers and see what drivers are available.

Best wishes,
NoReflex

there are none there ??:(

NoReflex
March 5th, 2009, 10:01 AM
Ok.

Let's start over.
First we have to identify your video card. To do this open up a terminal and write
lshw -C video
then post the result here.
You could also post some other details of your system that could help:
- CPU
- RAM
- Which Ubuntu (or other Linux) version you have
- Motherboard model
The commands to find these out are lshw -C x (where x is the category you want informations on - cpu, memory etc.) and lspci.

Best wishes,
NoReflex

lozzy
March 5th, 2009, 04:45 PM
Ok.

Let's start over.
First we have to identify your video card. To do this open up a terminal and write
lshw -C video
then post the result here.
You could also post some other details of your system that could help:
- CPU
- RAM
- Which Ubuntu (or other Linux) version you have
- Motherboard model