PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse Freezes when debugging 2nd debug after terminating application

Crimsonblah
March 4th, 2009, 04:52 PM
I've been struggling with this problem for quite a while so I'm hoping that one of ya'll can help me out - I'm happy to post more details if necessary.

It is *similar* the problem listed in this post, but I have tried all solutions there (I only have one project) and nothing has helped so far... http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=6043402

I think its related to Java, see the code block at the bottom.

I am currently running Eclipse with the CDT and SVN (Subclipse) plugins. I've been running in this configuration for over 6 months, debugging and testing my application. If I load up Eclipse and hit "debug", I am usually able to get the application to debug without problems. This correspond to the attached screenshot which has the name "...normal and working.jpg"

However, if I hit the "kill" red stop button while debugging (instead of exiting out of the application by closing it hitting the "x" button), the NEXT time I debug I experience funny behavior. One of the two following things happens next time I try to debug the program.
1. The program will *appear* to load up, but my GUI front end will not appear and gdb/mi window will be listed as "Suspended" (see the "Eclipse is responsive" picture attached). The first break point, usually placed on gtk_init, is NOT hit. At this point I cannot cause the system to debug properly.
2. Eclipse will freeze and become non-responsive while the status bar in the lower right hand corner will list either 50% or 85% (see the "Eclipse is frozen..." screenshot attached). If I click on the window at this time, the Eclipse GUI will become non-responsive (failing to update its screen) and the only option that I have had is to end the process, which I do through the system monitor.