PDA

View Full Version : Math, Math Math

Xoanan
March 4th, 2009, 01:35 PM
Hi All

I am new to programming world, so I did some lurking around here and searching and I have read various posts from several people here. A lot of them stress Math.

I discovered after delving into Python why this is necessary. I vaguely remember working with complex numbers and imaginary numbers back in my college days, but I never used them again.

At this point, I am going to have a friend pop over and help me with it(as she is working on that class now). I have also gone to some websites for further assistance

Here's one
http://www.purplemath.com/modules/

I know there are more.

My friend got a copy of Idiot's Guide to Algebra from the library for help.

If you have any other suggestions for resources, please feel free to post here.

Thanx

Xoanan

Tony Flury
March 4th, 2009, 02:19 PM
To be honest - it depends what you need/want to program. I have just finished writing a Graphical front end in Python for flickr - so i can upload pictures from my PC to flickr. The most complicated maths in that application was an increment (adding 1 to a value).

I have been in the s/w industry for 20 years (writing significant code for significant industrial strength applications), and i have never needed things like matrices, complex numbers etc.

Many applications will not require any complicated maths at all, and some will require a lot (3d modelling, games for example).

If you are not confident about complex maths etc, then don't worry - learn what you need when you know you actually need it.

nateperson
March 4th, 2009, 03:11 PM
I can't speak from experience, but as I work on a second B.S. in Computer Science, they are requiring me to take Discrete Math and Linear Algebra. They don't care much one way or the other about how I've already done higher maths, just those as those course seem geared towards the Comp Sci field.

Nate

sujoy
March 4th, 2009, 03:30 PM