PDA

View Full Version : One script to rule them all

derelict888
March 3rd, 2009, 11:50 PM
I'm a jr net admin for a small company, and I have written several scripts to check my work; one script gathers up all IPs and domains currently in use, then one pings IPs, one checks forward and reverse DNS (using dig), and another checks for websites we host (using wget and grep for specific keywords). I now want to tie these altogether with a script that calls them, and then runs them in separate instances of terminal. I need to do it this way cause we have a lot of domains and IPs, and any one of these scripts can take over an hour to complete - I'd rather run them side by side in parallel not in series. Any ideas how to do that? I have all these scripts in one folder so I guess I could do a for loop;

For script in " > /[location]/*.sh " do;
gnome-terminal $script

I know this code isn't exact, thats partly cause I'm lazy and partly cause I don't know what I need. I know how to code the for loop, but not the terminal code part (so I get multiple instances of terminal running these different scripts simultaneously). I do have VNC setup on the box these scripts will run from, and I do like to visually see the progress of my scripts.

Any ideas?

tad1073
March 3rd, 2009, 11:57 PM
I know nothing about scripting, but if want those scripts to run at certain times couldn't you make crotabs or cronjobs (or what ever they're called) to run the scripts parallel.

digital_x
March 4th, 2009, 12:04 AM
Just run them in the background

after gnome-terminal $script

put an ampersand, so
gnome-terminal $script &

EDIT:

you will also need the -e flag for gnome-terminal, hence

gnome-terminal -e $script &

derelict888
March 4th, 2009, 12:20 AM
I was hoping to be able to remote into this machine via VNC and see the scripts running. I guess I could do the same if I do a tail -f on a running script?