PDA

View Full Version : HP Laptop Running Very HOT..

Reaper29
March 3rd, 2009, 03:54 AM
im new to linux, im actually running Mint 6 x64bit (was running Ubuntu 8.10, but was alittle to hard for me). i was directed here to see if maybe anyone can help me. i have an HP DV2610us, and my laptop runs extreamly hot. i have lm-sensors installed, and my cpu temps at this very moment are:
matt@DV2610us ~ $ sensors
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1: +98.0°C (crit = +120.0°C)
temp2: +87.0°C (crit = +120.0°C)

k8temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
Core0 Temp: +81.0°C
Core0 Temp: +77.0°C
Core1 Temp: +81.0°C
Core1 Temp: +77.0°C

i know this has to be WAY WAY to hot. my fan does not even come on, and i know it works cause it was just working fine in Vista. Any suggestions?

Gramps
March 3rd, 2009, 04:28 AM
On my Dells I have to install and run gkrellm and a plugin for Dells you may just need gkrellm

sudo apt-get install gkrellm

my cpu temp runs about 33OC goes into the 40's with heavy activity. I start gkrellm on startup so I don't have to remember to start it each time.

Reaper29
March 3rd, 2009, 04:41 AM
On my Dells I have to install and run gkrellm and a plugin for Dells you may just need gkrellm

sudo apt-get install gkrellm

my cpu temp runs about 33OC goes into the 40's with heavy activity. I start gkrellm on startup so I don't have to remember to start it each time.

i thought gkrellm was just a system monitor?

miegiel
March 3rd, 2009, 05:18 AM
Personally I don't trust the k8temp-pci-00c3 sensor readout. Here's my machine's sensors output

k8temp-pci-00c3
Core0 Temp: +19.0°C
Core0 Temp: +20.0°C
Core1 Temp: +17.0°C
Core1 Temp: +17.0°C

it8716-isa-0228
Adapter: ISA adapter
VCore: +1.07 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V)
VDDR: +1.17 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V)
+3.3V: +3.33 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +4.08 V)
+5V: +4.97 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +5.99 V)
+12V: +12.10 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +16.32 V)
in5: +1.18 V (min = +4.02 V, max = +4.08 V)