PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I can't start a live session

joaquin1
March 2nd, 2009, 10:10 PM
Hello,
I can't start a live session with the 8.10 version live/install CD.
The menu appears correctly, and I've checked memory and CD integrity in the options.

When I try to start a live session, the logo of Ubuntu and the progress bar show up. The cursor inside the bar starts bouncing from side to side several times, but then when the bar starts filling up from left to right, it stops in the middle and the computer locks up and I have to reset.
I'm a complete beginner in Linux. Any help would be very appreciated. Thank you.
Computer specs:
Pentium 4, (2.8 GHz), Intel 865 Chipset
1 Gb RAM DDR 333
Video: Nvidia GeForce 7800GS (AGP bus)
Monitor: LCD Hyundai L90D+ (1280x1024 native resolution)

taurus
March 2nd, 2009, 10:12 PM
Try using F4 (safe graphic mode) at the initial screen to see if it boots.

joaquin1
March 2nd, 2009, 10:18 PM
Thanks taurus.
I tried that also.
In fact, I've also installed it in the hard disk (well apparently) but when try to run it from the hard disk the result is the same: it stops in the middle of the progress bar.

taurus
March 2nd, 2009, 10:23 PM
At the GRUB menu, hit letter e to edit your kernel and move to the end of the line that starts with kernel, remove both quiet splash. Then, hit b to boot. Now, you will see text printing on the screen. Post the last thing that it prints before it hangs.

joaquin1
March 2nd, 2009, 10:36 PM
Well, I've done that.
After several screens, the last line says:

init: rc-default main process (4438) terminated with status 139

If you could translate this to normal English ...

Edit: The emoticon is not really an emoticon is an "8" and a ")"

avtolle
March 2nd, 2009, 10:44 PM