PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Going to try Ubuntu for the first time... maybe

mattj7
March 2nd, 2009, 10:10 PM
Ok, I'm really interested in Ubuntu, but I'm not ready to give up windows. Not because I like windows as an operating system, but because I like the third party media available on windows as apposed to linux and mac. Therefore I've decided to try to set up a "dual boot". From what I understand, I have to create a seperate partition on my hard drive, then install ubuntu onto that and set up some sort of thing that will let me choose between operating systems when I turn my laptop (coimpaq presario c500, 1.5gb ddr2, 1.6 ghz intel celerom, 80bg hard drive, Windows Vista Basic, no dedicated graphics card) on. I have no idea how to do this, and am starting from square one. i want to know the risks, and I have no experience with the terminal or writing code. I need alot of help, but if you guys can convert me, I'll certainly do alot of good for linux; help out on these forums, post my own thoughts\praises\ideas\questions, and tell people how awesome it is. So, guide me through it

p.s. in order to get some sort of experience, i tried install ubuntu unto my moms old piece of crap desktop. She'd be pissed if i gave her a different operating system, so i took her hard drive out and put in a spare one. Then i burned the Ubuntu 8.10 desktop to a cd. I turned it on and pressed a bunch of f keys, since i didnt know which one. Then the Ubuntu loading screen and Language screen came on, but i could not interact with the language screen. Then a black screen with plain white text went on endlessly saying something about status[drdy] logical block at 13513 ect.

taurus
March 2nd, 2009, 10:15 PM
Maybe this line, https://help.ubuntu.com/community/GraphicalInstall, would answer some of your questions. Again, do a backup of your files in windows first just in case.

jerrrys
March 2nd, 2009, 10:46 PM
here's some reading material