PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Update broke about everything!!!!!!!!!!!

barbolanero
March 2nd, 2009, 06:54 PM
Today (2 March 2009) I saw that there were some updates and therefore, updated. There were some kernel updates. To my surprise, after resetting, I found that:

-first, it says there's some kind of conflict with tomboy applet
-If I press the shutdown button or menu entry just quits the panels but hangs in there, I can still see and use any aplication, and even worst, it doesn't give me the shutting down options!
-Firefox and Tomboy just doesn't work.

I'm really desperate since I'm a teacher and most of my files are there. What can I do to avoid a fresh install (out of the question due to time reasons)?.

This happen on my desktop computer using hardy.

James_mtl
March 2nd, 2009, 06:58 PM
You are at least more lucky them me !

My Lenovo T61 running Ibex does not even boot now that I updated to new kernel ! It actually look like it's booting but screen is black so I cannot tell !! I booted with the old kernel for now !

jerrrys
March 2nd, 2009, 07:11 PM
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=812394
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Kernel/Upgrade

gard76
March 2nd, 2009, 08:32 PM
I have a T61 also, and I experience the same problem after upgrading the kernel form version kernel 2.6.27-12-generic to kernel 2.6.27-13-generic. The laptop boots more or less, but the upgrade of the kernel blacks the screen instead of showing the gdm login. I havent been able to find anything else in the logs than this error in /var/log/messages:

Mar 2 19:41:44 gard-laptop syslogd 1.5.0#2ubuntu6: restart.
Mar 2 19:45:22 gard-laptop kernel: [159158.870766] input: Virtual ThinkFinger Keyboard as /devices/virtual/input/input14
Mar 2 19:52:54 gard-laptop kernel: [159610.583905] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready