PDA

View Full Version : vector of vectors issue(s) in c++

oldmanstan
December 26th, 2005, 05:20 AM
Ok, basically I need to know why this won't work...

Essentially I am trying to create a vector of vectors of ints then insert ints into the vectors of ints. I have been programming on and off for roughly 15 years but I'm a relative newbie to c++.

#include <vector>

int main() {
typedef std::vector<int> IntVec;
std::vector<IntVec> VecOfVec(5);
VecOfVec.at(0).insert( 10 );
}

Here is the error message g++ spits out...

vecinvectest.cc: In function ‘int main()’:
vecinvectest.cc:17: error: no matching function for call to ‘std::vector<int, std::allocator<int> >::insert(int)’
/usr/include/c++/4.0.2/bits/vector.tcc:93: note: candidates are: typename std::vector<_Tp, _Alloc>::iterator std::vector<_Tp, _Alloc>::insert(__gnu_cxx::__normal_iterator<typename _Alloc::pointer, std::vector<_Tp, _Alloc> >, const _Tp&) [with _Tp = int, _Alloc = std::allocator<int>]
/usr/include/c++/4.0.2/bits/stl_vector.h:657: note: void std::vector<_Tp, _Alloc>::insert(__gnu_cxx::__normal_iterator<typename _Alloc::pointer, std::vector<_Tp, _Alloc> >, size_t, const _Tp&) [with _Tp = int, _Alloc = std::allocator<int>]

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Jengu
December 26th, 2005, 05:46 AM
try changing:

To:

std::vector< IntVec > VecOfVec(5);

I know the difference looks incredibly stupid, but because << and >> are operators, nested templates confuse the compiler unless you put spaces. Maybe it's smart enough to handle that if you use typedef and you're getting those errors for another reason, but that'd be my first guess.

LordHunter317
December 26th, 2005, 05:53 AM
As the error says, there's no version of insert() that does what you want. ITYM, std::vector<T>::push_back().

As an aside, look at rolling your own matrix class, or using an existing library (boost::multi_array or similiar). Anything will be far better than a vector of vectors, which should be generally avoided.

oldmanstan