PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Recovery Options?

Acetertrix
March 1st, 2009, 10:30 AM
I've been using Ubuntu for a few months now, and the REDICULOUS PART is every couple weeks and UPDATES will appear on my flawlessly running system. And then this update either messed with the video, or sound stops working, sometimes the system runs so slow after an update I can't even access menus.

Right now its MP3's after an update my ability to play Mp3's has disappeared, and causes a system lockup. I have removed the packages totem complete and the gstreamer packages and the restricted ubuntu software - then restarted and reinstalled all these packages again, everything worked fine, Ubuntu said there were updates again. So I said ok to the UPDATES and I'll be blessed if it dident screw up Ubuntu Again.

Its hard enough getting answers to normal operations of ubuntu, but for the Updates to be screwing up my system, well thats too much, as of now my system is unusable and I'm apparently loosing everything AGAIN and reinstalling Ubuntu. Seams to me this is more like a Windows Environment, Actually Ubuntu dies 3x more than windows as of now.

As well Ubuntu is not going to take off if peoples systems are inoperative.
ATLEAST WHEN WINDOWS SCREWED UP I COULD RESTORE IT TO ANOTHER DAY, I GUESS UBUNTU DEVELOPERS FEEL THAT UBUNTU IS FLAWLESS AND DOSENT NEED A RECOVERY OPTION.

"IS THERE A RECOVERY OPTION OTHER THAN THE ESC MENU AT GRUB LOAD? CAN I RESTORE THE SYSTEM TO YESTURDAY AND NOT LOOSE EVERYTHING?

THIS IS MY LAST TIME INSTALLING UBUNTU. Once installed and I complete a One time update if everything works, I am disabeling Updates Completely.

Mark Phelps
March 1st, 2009, 05:49 PM