PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] pdf program idea

miesnerd
February 28th, 2009, 03:36 PM
I dont know if Adobe's products can do this or not; quite frankly, I dont care. I've been 100% linux for three years, and Im not about to go buy Acrobat.

So what I think would be a badass idea is a FOSS program that can no only view pdfs, but make notes and highlight them. As this world goes green, more and more often I find myself not printing off articles that I need to read (im a phd student, so i read lots of journal articles). But I cant highlight and go back and write comprehensive papers that bring together all of my ideas; I have to make notes, go back, try to find the right quote, etc. Even though its beyond me, I bet this wouldn't be too hard to implement, either, as there a few pretty good pdf readers/editors out there already.

Miesnerd

Roanoke
March 4th, 2009, 01:18 AM
I believe that this open office extension (http://extensions.services.openoffice.org/project/pdfimport) may help you.

miesnerd
March 4th, 2009, 06:49 AM
I believe that this open office extension (http://extensions.services.openoffice.org/project/pdfimport) may help you.

good call man, thanks. I had totally forgotten about that, which is rather ironic considering how excited I was before.

Roanoke
March 4th, 2009, 06:52 AM
No problem, I'm here to help :)
You can mark the thread as solved with the thread tools so others will know you solved your problem.

Majiq
March 4th, 2009, 07:00 AM
I really think that this needs to be advertised more, because I had absolutely no idea about it and you can't find this when searching the repository for PDF. When you search PDF and linux you don't find it either. In fact, I would almost go so far as to say that this should be incorporated into the standard install of Ubuntu, as part of the productivity kit. I don't know about its source and whether it's open or not, but maybe this should be included in the ubuntu restricted addons package.

miesnerd