PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 8.04 install password problems

cdanderson04
February 27th, 2009, 09:28 PM
Hello!

I am new to Ubuntu and Installed it on my Windows Vista HDD as a 10 gig partition. Anyways, I set up the isntallation correctly and followed all the instructions, but when I try to change anything that needs administration privileges my password is not accepted, yet it was accepted to log into Ubuntu for the first time. I had a friend that knows about linux look at it and he assured me that I was the root. Also, it was a fresh install. So I really have no idea what is going on. Either way. Thanks in advance.

-Colin

taurus
February 27th, 2009, 10:06 PM
One thing to keep in mind. When you type in your password from a terminal, you won't see any display on the screen, not even *****, so make sure you enter the right one and hit Return.

cdanderson04
February 27th, 2009, 10:22 PM
Yeah. I figured that. I also tried caps lock when typing my password just in case i typed it in wrong. But what bothers me is that I am able to log into in Ubuntu itself but I can't use any of the features that require authentication. Even though I set up only one user.

Thanks for the reply though!

taurus
February 27th, 2009, 10:30 PM
Is there an error message like you have entered a wrong password or you are not allowed to run that command because of root privilege?

What's the output of this command from a terminal?

id

joesdad
February 27th, 2009, 10:42 PM
Sorry to jump on the bandwagon, but I've installed Ubantu 8.1 this evening and have the same difficulty.

When I type in the password (or anything else) in terminal it now just ignores me and gives another :~$ prompt

(BTW I'm trying to sort out the driver for my wireless broadband, that's why I'm "trying" to put my password in)

cdanderson04
March 4th, 2009, 02:04 PM
hey. sorry about the delay

this is the result of typing
id