PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install Ubuntu 8.10 on 8 GB USB Flash Drive

danielky
February 26th, 2009, 07:26 PM
Linux Newbie here. I have an 8 GB USB flash drive which has no files on it and is freshly formatted with the FAT32 file system. I have an Ubuntu 8.10 Live CD which I can use to boot into Ubuntu. I want to use the whole 8 GB to make a bootable Ubuntu USB flash drive. I have used the "Create a USB startup disk" successfully with a 2 GB USB flash drive that is formatted with the "FAT" file system. But I can't seem to get it to work with the new 8 GB flash drive. Anyone have a link for step-by-step instructions?

smani
February 26th, 2009, 07:37 PM
If you want to use the USB drive just to install the OS (i.e. as a CDROM) you could also try with unetbootin (http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/).

wpshooter
February 26th, 2009, 08:08 PM
Linux Newbie here. I have an 8 GB USB flash drive which has no files on it and is freshly formatted with the FAT32 file system. I have an Ubuntu 8.10 Live CD which I can use to boot into Ubuntu. I want to use the whole 8 GB to make a bootable Ubuntu USB flash drive. I have used the "Create a USB startup disk" successfully with a 2 GB USB flash drive that is formatted with the "FAT" file system. But I can't seem to get it to work with the new 8 GB flash drive. Anyone have a link for step-by-step instructions?

Danielky:

You should be able to do this to the 8gb USB drive by just having the 8gb drive in place when you boot to either a live Ubuntu CD or to the ALTERNATE Ubuntu CD and then just install Ubuntu to the USB device just like you would any other drive device. I would recommend using the ALTERNATE to do this and also I would recommend that you as a safety measure unplug the hard drive(s) of your machine before doing this. Of course, you want to make your USB flash drive the bootable drive just after your CD-Rom bootable drive in BIOS.