PDA

View Full Version : Nationwide BS (UK) doesn't support Linux

getaboat
February 26th, 2009, 07:15 PM
Following on from the recent PorcelFarce lack of support for Linux based browsers - Nationwide BS has emerged as another one.

I've been doing my online banking with them on Linux since 2006 and going back to pre-dating browser based banking. Very recently I noticed that the pages in the online banking section weren't rendering correctly - and I've had a few other funnies on their site. Anyway the trouble shooting section says...

What we don't support

1. Any beta browsers (e.g. Internet Explorer 8, Google Chrome)
2. Any browsers running on any Linux distribution (e.g. Konqueror/KDE, Firefox/Ubuntu)
3. Camino, Omniweb or Shiira on Mac OS X

So if you are a Nationwide customer on Linux - they don't want your business - add them to the list.

I'll post back when and If I get a response from them.

Sealbhach
February 26th, 2009, 09:40 PM
The best thing is to write to them and say you're moving your account. That should make them sit up and take notice.

BuffaloX
February 26th, 2009, 09:50 PM
So they support Opera on Linux?

Muffinabus
February 26th, 2009, 09:54 PM
So they support Opera on Linux?

e.g. = example

BuffaloX
February 26th, 2009, 09:59 PM
Ups.

Giant Speck
February 27th, 2009, 02:58 PM
I really don't think this is intentional, though. And by intentional, I mean that I don't believe the bank is refusing to support Linux for the sake of refusing to support Linux.

The reason they aren't supporting Linux, beta browsers, or alternative Mac browsers is probably because they are admitting they wouldn't know how to solve problems resulting from the use of those operating systems/browsers. That isn't a discrimination problem. It's more of a tech support problem.

red_Marvin
February 27th, 2009, 03:16 PM
Giant speck: If they would use standard technology they should be fine...

Giant Speck
February 27th, 2009, 03:20 PM