PDA

View Full Version : Database programming - what alternatives?

Crabro
February 26th, 2009, 05:16 PM
I used to be a dBase then Foxpro programmer (with some Visual Foxpro experience) in an earlier life. My home accounts program was written, oh, 16 years ago in FoxPro. It suits me - I tailored it to what I need, minimum keystrokes, and so on.

Recently I discovered Ubuntu, and I now am a total convert, except for one thing - you have guessed - my home accounts program. It works fine under Wine, except when I try to print then it cannot see my network attached printer (hp business inkjet 1100). I have to then switch to XP just for the printing - ouch, that hurts!

I was thinking this should be reported as a bug to the Wine team, but decided that I am probably the only person in the whole world that wants to print using FoxPro 2.6 under Wine to a NAP...

I have recently been looking into writing another home accounts program. I have looked at OpenOffice.org Base and played around with the macros. However I have not got much further than 'Hello World'. I cannot discover simple things such as how to alter the properties of objects or manipulate table data. I have a feeling this may not be possible, or the way to go.

I then read about GAMBAS, but it seems that does not yet hook into data very well. I guess I would have to run a mySQL server, and I am feel this is going too far for a home accounts program.

Has anyone any suggestions to what I could look at please? I know there are account programs in the repositories, but I want to write something! ;)

ajackson
February 26th, 2009, 05:33 PM
For standalone databases you can use SQLite.

As for languages most will have drivers for SQLite (or MySQL), Java and Python definitely do (I've used both with a SQLite DB), I'd imagine Mono (C#) does as well.