PDA

View Full Version : What have you done so far with your Ubuntu?

kenweill
December 25th, 2005, 10:52 AM
Me?

When I first used Ubuntu, all I can say is: What the heck is this? Whats this? Whats this for? Its because Im new to Linux. Particularly to Ubuntu.

Then I installed it in the office. 3 computers. IBM ThinkCentre A50. I dual boot it with Windows XP.

One thing i've noticed running Ubuntu is, for about an hour, It hangs. Or stops responding. Or takes a while to finish a command. Weird.

Then I got into the forum. Yes, here I am. I can ask for help.

Luckily, someone in the forum, more than one really, has the same problem. When one got the solution, he/she posted it. Applied the solution in my machine, and here it is, it works fine now. No hang up.

The second problem I have is internet connection. I can connect the Workstations to the server, that shares the internet connection, but I can't use Ubuntu as the server. The connection is windows based.

What I did is have a research about it.

What I've done so far with my internet connection is I installed VMware Player. I installed WinXP inside Ubuntu using the VMware Player. Connect to the Internet through it, and here I am, connected to the internet using Ubuntu, but of course, using WinXP actually to connect to the internet. Its very very slow. Running both Linux and WinXP at the same time, using 256 MB of memory. It realy sucks. But my purpose in here is to connect just to connect to the internet. Hidding the XP(running). If ever theres a raid, for pirated software, its very easy to delete or hide WinXP. (hehehehe)

One thing I don't like(or lets just say, not used to) in Ubuntu, is GNOME. I tried to download Kubuntu, for the fact that it uses KDE which is almost looks like windows. But I can't install Kubuntu due to some base installation error. All I ever wanted is to use KDE.