PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Partition resizing in ubuntu

supasye
February 25th, 2009, 02:49 PM
Hi People, I'm new to ubuntu and i'm switching to it just because windows is getting a bit on my nerves now..

I plan to keep some hard drive space for windows because i am heavy on graphics work and i need to use programs such as 3ds max and photoshop. From what i have read they do not work so well on Ubuntu.

I am trying to use GPart to resize and partition on my hardrive. At the moment there is an exclamation mark on my hard drive and i cannot resize. It says there are bad sectors on the disk etc, im sure many of you have encountered this before, i followed the instructions to run the check disk (three times ive done it already all five stages) and to defragment the hdd. But it doesnt make a difference. The problem persists.

How can i get around this problem? Is there a program that will allow me to do it inside Windows?
I notice when i defrag my hdd that there are unmovable files towards the end of the disk, i was sondering if this could be the problem even though i dont think it is..

its Ubuntu 8.04 btw..

Thanks in advance for your help guys..

Mark Phelps
February 25th, 2009, 08:31 PM
Which version of MS Windows do you need to keep -- Vista or XP?

The tools that work on resizing partitions are different for each.

supasye
February 25th, 2009, 10:07 PM
Hi,

It's Windows XP Home SP2..

Thanks.

edit: it was preinstalled on the system, not sure if that makes a difference..

Mark Phelps
February 26th, 2009, 05:59 PM
Ok, that's good news because Vista would pose extra problems...

Inside MS windows, Open MyComputer, click on the drive icon, select Tools, and select check for errors (or something like that). If it prompts to have you specify that for the next boot, click OK.

That will run chkdsk inside of Windows -- and should repair the disk.

If it doesn't, there's the possibility that the drive is failing.

lindsay7
February 26th, 2009, 06:53 PM